Our strategies and plans

Customer Challenge Group members

Bernard Crump (Chair from April 2014)

Bernard Crump became Chair of the Central and Eastern Region of the Consumer Council for Water in February 2013 and represents water consumers served by the five water companies in the area.

He is a doctor who has worked as a clinician and clinical researcher, as a Director of Public Health and as a chief executive during a career spanning some 35 years.

Dame Yve Buckland (Chair until April 2014)

Dame Yve became the first national chair of the Consumer Council for Water in 2005 and was also the chair for the NHS Institute for Innovation and Improvement from its inception in 2005 until December 2011.

Prior to that, she was chair of the National Health Development Agency and Director of Health Partnerships at the Warwick Business School. 

Colin Greatorex (Deputy Chair)

Colin is a Cabinet member of Lichfield District Council with responsibility for community and organisational development and these two areas relate to his interest in the work of the CCG.

Cllr Tom Marshall
Lichfield District Councillor

John T. Thompson LL.B., DMA, FCIEH
South Staffs Water Charitable Trust

Gemma Domican
Consumer Council for Water

Dr David Wurr
Consumer Council for Water

Ian Butterfield
Natural England 

Adam Lines
Environment Agency

Ray White
Walsall Citizens’ Advice Bureau and trustee of the South Staffs Water Charitable Trust

Cllr Ahmadul Haque MBE
Councillor - Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council 

Andy Baxter
Molson Coors in Burton-on-Trent

Greg Marshall
Environment Agency 

Elinor Cordiner
Drinking Water Inspectorate 

In September 2013 the South Staffs Customer Challenge Group merged with the Cambridge Local Water Forum, which was also chaired by Dame Yve Buckland.

Members of the Local Water Forum

Dame Yve Buckland – Chair
Consumer Council for Water

John Bridge - Deputy Chair
Cambridge Chambers of Commerce

Stephen Woolverton - Deputy Chair
Babraham Research Campus

Jacky Atkinson
Drinking Water Inspectorate

Richard Thompson
Environment Agency

Iain Page/Gemma Cooper
Environment Agency

Richard Franceys
Consumer Council for Water Central and Eastern Committee

Rachel Talbot
Citizens’ Advice Bureau

Caroline Owen

Nigel Borrell
Countryside Properties

Paul Hammett
National Farmers’ Union

Brian Jackson
Wilbraham River Preservation Society

Julie-Anne Hogbin
Anglia Ruskin University

Mark Robinson
Cambridge University Environmental Society

Martin Baker
The Wildlife Trust for Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire & Northamptonshire

Cllr Jean Swanson
Cambridge City Council

Cllr Tim Wotherspoon
South Cambridgeshire District Council

Cllr Mandy Smith
Cambridgeshire County Council

Steve Grebby
Consumer Council for Water

South Staffs Water attendees

Phil Newland, BA (Hons)

Phil was appointed to the Board as Managing Director in April 2014, having previously worked within South Staffordshire Plc as Managing Director of Echo.

He had also worked as Project Director and Business Development Director within Echo and before that Phil was a Management Consultant with Automatic Data Processing (ADP) and Terence Chapman Associates.

Matt Lewis, BA (Hons), MBA

Matt joined South Staffs Water in 1997 and has since held a number of roles in the areas of regulation, distribution and customer services. He was appointed to the Board of SSW Plc in 2009.

Rachel Barber, MBA

Rachel has more than 20 years' experience in the water industry having joined South Staffs Water in 1990. Previously Director of Customer Services and Director of Distribution, Rachel joined the Board in October 2009 and now has the combined role as Customer Service Director.

Barbara Julye, MSc

Barbara has wide experience of customer service management and joined South Staffs Water in 2011 as Head of Customer Engagement.