New appointments strengthen Board

South Staffs Water has welcomed three new Independent Non-executive Directors to its Board.

The new Board members – Rt Hon Lord Smith of Finsbury, Catherine May and Michael McNicholas – will strengthen the Board by bringing new skills and expertise to the company.

Rt Hon Lord Smith of FinsburyLord Smith is a Life Peer in the House of Lords. He has extensive senior leadership experience in both the political world and the public sector, having previously held the posts of Chairman of the Environment Agency and Founding Chairman of UK Water Partnership. Since 2015 he has been the Master of Pembroke College, Cambridge, and is responsible for the strategy and planning for the college. He is also a Cambridge Water customer.

Catherine MayCatherine May has more than 20 years’ experience in corporate leadership, brand and issues management, public policy and governance. She has previously held the posts of Group Director at SAB Miller Plc and Centrica, and is currently the Vice-chair of Stonehaven Campaigns, a reputation management consultancy and a Non-executive Director of the Pensions and Life Savings Association (PLSA).

Michael McNicholasMichael McNicholas has more than 35 years’ experience in senior leadership positions in the public and private sectors. He is the former CEO of Ervia, the parent company of Irish Water and of NTR Plc. He is also a Non-executive Director of PM Group.  Michael has significant experience in growing international businesses in the utilities, engineering and infrastructure sectors. He is a civil engineering graduate and is also a member of the Board of the Irish Management Institute (IMI) and Chair of the IMI Council.

Sir James Perowne, Chairman of South Staffs Water said:

“I’m very pleased to welcome Chris, Catherine and Michael to the Board. Their expertise will strengthen our Board at this critical time, as we begin to deliver the innovative and ambitious customer-led plans set out in our PR19 business plan. I am looking forward to working closely with them to ensure we continue to provide high-quality water, exceptional levels of service and great value for money.”

As a result of these changes, the Board now comprises five Independent Non-executive Directors, three Investor Non-executive Directors and two Executive Directors.